Library Thing Tuesday – Intros

The Early Reviewers group on LibraryThing decided a week or so ago that we all need to share our book blogs with one another. From that decision, an idea was formed to do a once-per-week blogging circle/prompt along the lines of Booking Through Thursday.

Our goal today is simply to introduce ourselves and our blogs. Those that have been reading for awhile, please bear with me. Who knows, perhaps you’ll even learn something new.

I have been on LibraryThing for approximately a year, but did not get active in the community until discovering Early Reviewers sometime in February. The community there, as well as The Literate Housewife’s blog, inspired me to begin my own book blog to post my reviews, and perhaps be sent some books for review. Now I’m totally addicted to my blog, and to reviewing. This is something like post 74 in about 2.5 months, so close to a post a day on average (P.S. I’ll be having a big contest for post 100, although I haven’t decided whether to start or end it on post 100). I would love to someday be a professional reviewer. This blog is pretty much solely about books but NOT about my life in general, except as it relates to books (for example: Reading While Remodeling or Book Promiscuity).

I read a good deal of fiction, primarily historical fiction, but I do love good non-genre fiction, as well as non-fiction and memoir. At this time I have not been reading much young adult literature or science fiction, but I have read them in the past and am hoping to get back into them (I’m killing two birds with one stone this summer by being part of J. Scott Savage’s blog tour). I am currently attempting to “Read Around the World,” although my progress is fairly slow.

The books I review are those from my shelves, from LibraryThing Early Reviewers, from ReaderViews, Connecting Books with the Online World, Literary Ventures Fund, and authors’ blog tours. Now if someone would just decide to pay me to do this (besides in free books, which is great in itself), so that I could sit at home all day and read!

By the way, all of my reviews are posted on LibraryThing as well. However, I post only a partial review there – although enough that LT readers would not be confused – and post a link back to my site for people to get the entire review.

Tags: , , , , , ,

13 Responses to “Library Thing Tuesday – Intros”

  1. J. Kaye Says:

    I really, really need to spend more time at LT. So many new things are going on and I am missing all the fun!

  2. bookroomreviews Says:

    Hi, I’ve been enjoying your website for a few weeks now! Tracy

  3. Devourer of Books Says:

    J.Kaye – YAH you do! It is always a good time!

    Tracy – Thanks! I’m glad you enjoy it!

  4. Jules Jones Says:

    LibraryThing can be an enormous timesink, can’t it? In a good way, of course. :-)

  5. Natasha @ Maw Books Says:

    I have an account with Library Thing but have not been active. Perhaps I should “work” it a little more. You’re doing awesome on your blog. Only two and a half months? Wow!

  6. Devourer of Books Says:

    You should totally come and join the LT community. Of course, you may never get anything done again, but c’est la vie. I try to LT at times when I would be able to be reading anyway, which keeps it from interfering with THAT at least.

  7. kegsoccer Says:

    LT certainly is addictive!

  8. Jacquie Reaville Says:

    Hi, I haven’t been around LT for a while, pressure of life and so on and of course the day I come back something like Tuesday Things starts up, where’s all my time going?!

    Glad to meet you and I’ll be back to check out the rest of the site.

  9. Elizabeth Says:

    Hi – I found your blog at LT and wanted to say hello! =)

  10. lisamm Says:

    Hi, I just discovered the LT Tuesday thingy last night (you I discovered a few weeks back!) Pretty cool.. I’m going to try to keep up!

  11. Literate Housewife Says:

    I’m going to have to jump on board tomorrow. Gone for only 9 days and you miss so much…

  12. Jennifer B Says:

    I just signed up for LT a week or so ago, but don’t have many books on my shelf (slow slow dial up) maybe after I get my high speed installed!

    Do you get many visitors through from LT?

    I am totally addicted to blogging though, I started in March – started posting in April, and have over 100 posts already, sigh. I do book reviews as well, mostly Christian ones though :).

  13. Devourer of Books Says:

    I am generally surprised by thenumber of people who find my blog through my LT profile. There are also a fair number who have found me due to our Early Reviewer blog ring.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

