Someday My Prince Will Come – Book Review

Someday coverWhen I was a little girl, I wanted to be a princess. I was positive I was going to meet and marry Prince William. In fact, I was so sure that I was going to become a princess that I constantly practiced drinking my ‘tea’ with my pinky finger up in the air. I did that so much that, to this very day, I cannot sip or pour a beverage with my pinky on the glass, can, or bottle. This even applies to pouring soda from a two liter bottle into a cup. Finger in the air. Always.

I’m sure lots of little girls had similar experiences, so I am sure that many of us can relate to Jerramy Fine, author of “Some Day My Prince Will Come” as I did. The daughter of die-hard hippies, Jerramy had an odd fascination with royalty from the first moment she was able to express it. She knew about things like armoires and chambermaids at an age this knowledge seemed highly unlikely – it certainly did not come from her TV-disdaining nudist parents.

I was a fairly fickle four year old. Around the same time I had decided I was to marry Prince William, I ALSO informed my mother than when I was approximately 20 I would be marrying my best friend Ryan. Well, all of these years later I am not marrying either Ryan or William. Jerramy, however, was more unremitting. Not only when she was four, but also when she had graduated from college, she was certain she would one day meet and marry Queen Elizabeth’s grandson, Peter Phillips. “Some Day My Prince Will Come” is Jerramy’s memoir of her quest to become part of the royal family.

I could not decide whether Jerramy was completely fantastic and hilarious, or just completely insane. A bit of both, I think. Half the time I was laughing, half the time I was just shaking my head at her. There but by the grace of God go I, I suppose. I all but read this book in one sitting – had I not started it before I absolutely had to go somewhere, I would have simply read it straight through. This book is really, truly fantastic. Not only is it endlessly entertaining, but Jerramy learns, and shares with us all, some wonderful (but not overdone) morals about the true meaning of loyalty. Go out and find this book!

Buy this book on Amazon – Someday My Prince Will Come: True Adventures of a Wannabe Princess

Tags: , , ,

13 Responses to “Someday My Prince Will Come – Book Review”

  1. J. Kaye Says:

    What a neato blog you have here!

    I wanted to stop by and welcome to the 100+ Reading Challenge! :-D I have posted your link on the right sidebar of the blog. Another thing I am doing something, at least I think it is. I’d like to start posting the participating members favorite book for each month on the blog. January, February, and March’s are posted on the blog and April will be added soon. If you send me your favorite book and author of the book for those months, I’ll post it in the photo slider.

    You are also welcome to chat with us on the Yahoo Groups. The link can be found at http://100-book-challenge.blogspot.com/

    Best of luck and above all, have fun!

  2. Literate Housewife Says:

    What a wonderful review. I don’t think I would have even thought twice about this book without reading this. If I see it, I’m going to pick it up.

  3. Devourer of Books Says:

    I hope you will enjoy it, I thought it quite wonderful. Hmm, maybe my young love for Prince William explains MY fascination with British royal history…

  4. Terry Finley Says:

    I always wanted to be a general.
    The wonder of literature and fiction.
    I love it. Thanks for the thoughts.

  5. Wisteria Says:

    Cute blog…
    Since, my favorite historical fiction has always been reading about royalty. I always felt I was indeed adopted, and was the “Forgotten Princess”, as I was the only member of the family with red hair. What would you think? Sounds like a fun book. I will heed your advice.

  6. R-ennui-ading « Devourer of Books’ Weblog Says:

    [...] Devourer of Books’ Weblog Memoirs of a Ravenous Reader « Someday My Prince Will Come – Book Review [...]

  7. Bloggity Blog « Devourer of Books’ Weblog Says:

    [...] In addition to interacting with fellow readers and reviewers, I’ve had my first chance to interact with an author!  When I returned from lunch today I found in my email inbox an email from Jerramy Fine, author of “Someday My Prince Will Come” thanking me for the great review! [...]

  8. chartroose Says:

    Another for my TBR list. Thanks!

  9. Gail (aka Irish) Says:

    Sounds like a great book. I’m going to have to keep my eyes open for this one.

  10. Kyle J. Says:

    Yes ! This is the story that many, many young girls wished their older selves would have created for them !! So, why do we have the separate the two identities anyway ?? Every woman needs to go for what their heart truly desires…..and, from experience, you will desire this book !

  11. Devourer of Books Says:

    My mom is now dying to read this book. I’m taking it to her next weekend when I go home for my sister’s college graduation (!) and my California bridal shower.

  12. bunnyb Says:

    I hope to win this one from you. If not, certainly on my TBR! :)

  13. Breanna Says:

    I’d love to read this book. Its definitely on my wish list. Great review as well. =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

