Book Promiscuity

I used to be a very promiscuous reader, I would have about four books going at any given time. For some reason, I have not been able to do that lately. I seem to only be able to concentrate on one book at a time, probably because I have less time to read than I used to. When your primary reading time is your hour lunch break and SOME nights at home, it is hard to go back and forth between books, you can’t finish them fast enough to remember what is going on. A few times recently I have tried to have two books going at a time, for various reasons. I picked up Victoria Victorious after I started The Translator, mainly because I thought the latter book would be too sad to read at work. Then I picked up Queens of England while I was reading Botany of Desire, mostly because I just wanted to see how it was, planning to read the story of only one or two queens. Both times I ended up completely finishing the second book before going back and finishing the first book. Perhaps I have ended my book promiscuity in favor of serial reading monogamy.

However, I have noticed a certain yearning lately to cheat on the book I am reading. I devoted a good amount of the weekend to Margaret George’s The Memoirs of Cleopatra and am only about 100 pages from the end (it is a 950-odd page book). I brought another book with me to work today, The Sacred History of Britain, that I bought in hardback at Half Price Books for just $5.00. I am really enjoying The Memoirs of Cleopatra, but after all that time devoted to it, I am very excited to start another new book. I have having a hard time not picking it up and “cheating” on Cleopatra.

I’m not sure what my problem is. Maybe, when it comes to reading, I’m just not made for monogamy.

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Book Promiscuity”

  1. rantsandreads Says:

    “Book Promiscuity”

    I love that concept!!

    I have the opposite problem though. I have committment issues with most books, and end up breaking it off halfway through, and moving onto something else.

  2. Literate Housewife Says:

    I love this post – and it’s so true of me, too. I’m reading a rather long book right now and I’m having difficulty reading it and I’m not even 100 in. Still, it was written by an author I’ve “met” on historicalfiction.org so I feel obligated to read it. But, I purchased Devil Water by Anya Seyton last month and REALLY want to start it. I know that if I pick the book up off of the shelf I’ll never read this other book. I’m trying very hard to keep on my book reading chastity belt. It’s feeling awfully restrictive right now…

  3. Devourer of Books Says:

    Literate Housewife – that is exactly what I’m worried about. I try to tell myself that I will just read a chapter or so then finish Cleopatra (which I really am enjoying, but there’s not much left to happen in the last 100 pages but for the whole asp thing to happen), but I know I’ll never go back. AND I won’t be able to reread Memoirs of Cleopatra anytime soon, because I already read so much of it.

  4. Daphne Says:

    I’ve tried to read more than one book and it just doesn’t work very well for me, so I am very monogamous!

  5. Torn « The Literate Housewife Review Says:

    [...] through each page and I have too many other books I want to read.  Last night was hot and heavy book promiscuity fueled by an absolute lack of passion for my current [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

