The Other Boleyn Girl: NY Times Movie Review

The New York Times published their review of The Other Boleyn Girl, the movie based on Philippa Gregory’s historical fiction novel of the same name.  I very much enjoyed the book, despite a few historical inaccuracies – for instance, Mary wasn’t just the sweet girl, caught up in her family’s scheming as in the book, she had QUITE the reputation at French court before she returned to England, the King Francois is said to have called her the “English Mare” (think town bicycle).   The reviews of this movie, however, have been not so good, and this one has been no exception.  I am dragging Brian along with me to see it tomorrow night for a “date night,” so I will add my two cents sometime on Sunday.  I hope it is one of those cases where I do not agree with the critics…

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

